fashion-design-institute-in-londo-westwood-4

The FDI enabled its fashion students to spend a day with Vivienne Westwood

The Fashion Design Institute Düsseldorf organized a day in London dedicated to the famous and recently deceased fashion designer Vivienne Westwood.

Change in the footsteps of the British punk designer

Vivienne Westwood - the "Queen of Punk". She was one of the most important fashion designers of the last century and is considered the inventor of punk fashion. She stood like no other for shrill, avant-garde designs and is a real role model for many who are passionate about fashion design or study fashion. Vivienne understood like hardly anyone else how to combine different style elements and fabrics into very individual designer pieces. She loved provocation and always managed to stand out. Her collections with eccentric combinations of historical patterns, rare fabrics and colorful patterns thrilled the fashion world. She loved tartans, high-quality wool fabrics and English tweed, which she used again and again in her designs. With a dash of irony, criticism of the times and extravagance, Vivienne Westwood always managed to inspire women to be original and bold in their wardrobe choices.

The Fashion Design Institute visited Vivienne Westwood's places of work

Vivienne Westwood was not only a gifted designer and style icon, but also politically committed to more sustainability and climate protection. Sustainability is also very important to the students of the Fashion Design Institute Düsseldorf, so many of them took part in the excursion to London. The destination was Vivienne Westwood's numerous places of activity: First, they went to her boutique "SEX", today "World's End", where she offered her unconventional fashion for sale and where today Westwood's fashion pieces from earlier collections are archived and exhibited.

A visit to the marketing department of the Vivienne Westwood brand was then on the agenda. Here, the students, who are training at the Fashion Design Institute Düsseldorf, had talks with employees of the department. Vivienne Westwood was not only a real style icon for all those who want to study fashion, but also very successful in business. This gave the FDI students the chance to take home many valuable tips and knowledge about the successful marketing of fashion they had created themselves. Not unimportant for the later promotion of their own collections!

The highlight - a visit to Vivienne Westwood's haute couture atelier

Vivienne Westwood has remained on the pulse of time to this day and also enjoys great popularity in haute couture with her unconventional, shrill designs. For this reason, the Fashion Design Institute Düsseldorf had organized a visit to the atelier for all fellow students. During the visit, the students had the opportunity to get to know the latest trends of style icon Westwood and to pick up creative food for thought. At the same time, they gained an insight into the art of tailoring and the work processes in the fashion studio.

fashion-design-institut-in-londo-westwood-4

Das FDI ermöglichte seinen Modeschülern einen Tag bei Vivienne Westwood

Die Modeschule Fashion Design Institut Düsseldorf organisierte einen Tag in London, der ganz im Zeichen der berühmten und kürzlich verstorbenen Modedesignerin Vivienne Westwood stand.

Wandel auf den Spuren der britischen Punk-Designerin

Vivienne Westwood – die „Queen des Punk“. Sie war eine der bedeutendsten Modedesignerinnen des letzten Jahrhunderts und gilt als Erfinderin der Punk-Mode. Sie stand wie kaum eine andere für schrille, avantgardistische Designs und ist für viele, die sich für Modedesign begeistern oder Mode studieren, ein echtes Vorbild. Vivienne verstand es wie kaum eine andere, verschiedene Stilelemente und Stoffe zu sehr individuellen Designerstücken zu vereinen. Sie liebte die Provokation und schaffte es immer wieder, aufzufallen. Ihre Kollektionen mit exzentrischen Kombinationen aus historischen Mustern, seltenen Stoffen und bunten Mustern begeisterten die Modewelt. Sie liebte Schottenkaros, hochwertige Wollstoffe und englischen Tweed, den sie immer wieder in ihren Entwürfen verwendete. Mit einem Schuss Ironie, Zeitkritik und Extravaganz gelang es Vivienne Westwood immer wieder, Frauen zu Originalität und Mut bei der Wahl ihrer Garderobe zu inspirieren.

Das Fashion Design Institut besuchte die Wirkungsstätten Vivienne Westwoods

Vivienne Westwood war aber nicht nur eine begnadete Designerin und Stilikone, sondern engagierte sich auch politisch für mehr Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaschutz. Nachhaltigkeit hat auch bei den Schüler:innen des Fashion Design Instituts Düsseldorf einen sehr hohen Stellenwert, so dass viele an dem Ausflug nach London teilnahmen. Ziel waren die zahlreichen Wirkungsstätten von Vivienne Westwood: Zunächst ging es zu ihrer Boutique „SEX“, heute „World’s End“, in der sie ihre unkonventionelle Mode zum Verkauf anbot und in der heute Westwoods Modestücke aus früheren Kollektionen archiviert und ausgestellt werden.

Anschließend stand ein Besuch in der Marketingabteilung der Marke Vivienne Westwood auf dem Programm. Hier standen für die Schüler:innen, die am Fashion Design Institut Düsseldorf eine Ausbildung machen, Gespräche mit Mitarbeitern der Abteilung an. Denn Vivienne Westwood war nicht nur eine echte Stilikone für alle, die Mode studieren wollen, sondern auch wirtschaftlich sehr erfolgreich. So erhielten die Schüler:innen des FDI die Chance, viele wertvolle Tipps und Wissen bezüglich der erfolgreichen Vermarktung von selbst kreierter Mode mit nach Hause zu nehmen. Nicht unwichtig für die spätere Promotion der eigenen Kollektionen!

Der Höhepunkt – Ein Besuch des Haute Couture Ateliers von Vivienne Westwood

Vivienne Westwood ist bis heute am Puls der Zeit geblieben und erfreut sich mit ihren unkonventionellen, schrillen Entwürfen auch in der Haute Couture großer Beliebtheit. Aus diesem Grund hatte das Fashion Design Institut Düsseldorf für alle Mitreisenden einen Besuch des Ateliers organisiert. Bei dem Besuch erhielten die Schüler:innen die Gelegenheit, die neuesten Trends der Stilikone Westwood kennenzulernen und konnten sich kreative Denkanstöße abholen. Gleichzeitig erhielten sie einen Einblick in die Schneiderkunst und die Arbeitsabläufe im Modeatelier.